What have I become??

Well, I haven’t written forever! I have not been feeling very creative lately. But I HAVE been following current events, etc., and now have joined the ranks of those addicted to social networking sites….in fact, for awhile, I was so addicted to Mafia Wars on Facebook that it was all I was doing for 16 hours a day (no, not really, but you get the idea….).

Then I just got really sick of Facebook and didn’t go on it for months. During that time, the longer I stayed away, the more phobic I got about trying to get back on it again. I figured it would be overwhelming. Well, this past month I did get on it again, and it IS overwhelming, and they of course have changed things….but, I am going to use it in moderation.

Twitter is another story. I am on that as an inside joke, mostly with myself :). I find it absolutely useless and silly. And God help us if that’s a news source for people! But, anyway, I’m on that occasionally, writing some twaddle for some reason or another.

But it’s crazy. Social networking is totally out of control. People are forming backlash groups. What would happen if we just picked up this new invention called the TELEPHONE???? And actually talked to real friends?

Calling to talk to someone is 9 times out 10 faster, more direct, and to the point, than texting, Facebooking, Twittering, emailing, etc.

But then it’s not really cool, is it?

However, when your 90 year old grandma is on Facebook, and you are getting friend requests from friends’ parents, the thing is not cool anymore anyway. I thought that when my generation (GenX) started joining Facebook in droves that we were all too old for that. Little did I know. But I do know that once Facebook becomes as non-controversial as Elvis did years after his debut, and that once your parents start loving using it just like how their parents started to love Elvis, well, it’s just not cutting edge or cool or rebellious or any of those things anymore….maybe going back to a pen and paper, or a telephone, or, if we still can, having a real conversation in person, will become the “New trendy way to socially network…” I think that would be a good idea!

4 responses

  1. Fastiԁious resρond in return оf this dіfficulty wіth genuine arguments and dеscrіbing thе whole thing regarding that.Alsо ѵisіt my web pagе; single family homes for rent plano

  2. great publish, very informativе. I'm wondering why the other experts of this sector do not notice this. You should continue your writing. I'm сonfident, you've a great readers' bаse alгeadу!Also visit my blog pοst :: http://Www.Howtobuyandsellcarsguide.com

  3. Doеs your website havе a сontact page?I'm having problems locating it but, I'd like to send you аn еmail. I've got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.Here is my page; How To Make Money Buying And Selling Cars For Profit

  4. Іt's the best time to make a few plans for the future and it's timе tο be haρpy.I've learn this submit and if I may I want to recommend you few interesting issues or advice. Maybe you could write subsequent articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things approximately it!my blog post: dallas search engine optimization

Leave a Reply

Literary.Land.of.Alysia

Write Your Own Story

Minneapolis Criminal Law News

The Defense View from the Courts of Minnesota

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

pharmacisthelp's Blog

To Help Students and Patients understand Pharmacy in Canada

An Unemployed Pharmacist's Diary

An unsatisfied Pharmacists mindset

Recovering Agnostic

Heckling from the back pew

The Angry Pharmacist

Rants from the most trusted profession.

Medical Minded

My Journey & Advice for Others

READ Research English At Durham

Books and literature articles, news and events, from the UK's top Department of English Studies at Durham University

Wheresmytutor's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

ladyfreudpsych

Freudian theory focused on childhood traumas and upbringing influencing mental health.

Cato @ Liberty

A place for people to discuss ideas, whether intellectual, political, philosophical, historical, literary, theological, cultural or what have you....

Through My Lens

Photographs by Peter Berge

Minneapolis Handyman

Your Source for the Best Minneapolis Handyman Companies in MN

The Cynic Center

My views of the world, the title says it all

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Annals of Internal Medicine Online First

A place for people to discuss ideas, whether intellectual, political, philosophical, historical, literary, theological, cultural or what have you....

Blogging for a Good Book

A suggestion a day from the Williamsburg Regional Library

Feedly

Helping Knowledge Workers Thrive

Cato @ Liberty

A place for people to discuss ideas, whether intellectual, political, philosophical, historical, literary, theological, cultural or what have you....

Leiter Reports: A Philosophy Blog

A place for people to discuss ideas, whether intellectual, political, philosophical, historical, literary, theological, cultural or what have you....

The Partially Examined Life Philosophy Podcast

A Philosophy Podcast and Philosophy Blog

Philosophy Bro

A place for people to discuss ideas, whether intellectual, political, philosophical, historical, literary, theological, cultural or what have you....

Neuropsychopharmacology

A place for people to discuss ideas, whether intellectual, political, philosophical, historical, literary, theological, cultural or what have you....

Zombie Politics

A place for people to discuss ideas, whether intellectual, political, philosophical, historical, literary, theological, cultural or what have you....

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

